• Oregon Battle of the Books Website


    2021-2022 Titles

    2021-2022 OBOB Title Lists

    6th to 8th Grade Division

    • Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor
    • Almost American Girl by Robin Ha
    • Archimancy by J.A. White
    • Arlo Finch in the Valley of Fire by John August
    • The Best at It by Maulik Pancholy
    • Deep Water by Watt Key
    • Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams
    • A Good Kind of Trouble by Lisa Moore Ramée
    • It’s Trevor Noah: Born a Crime by Trevor Noah
    • My Year in the Middle by Lila Quintero Weaver
    • Nowhere Boy by Katherine Marsh
    • The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise
      by Dan Gemeinhart
    • Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson
    • The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes
    • To Night Owl from Dogfish
      by Holly Goldberg Sloan & Meg Wolitzer
    • When Stars Are Scattered
      by Victoria Jamieson & Omar Mohamed


    3rd to 5th Grade Division

    • Astrid the Unstoppable by Maria Parr
    • The Bookwanderers by Anna James
    • The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole by Michelle Cuevas
    • Clean Getaway by Nic Stone
    • The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm
    • Guts by Raina Telgemeier
    • The Harlem Charade by Natasha Tarpley
    • I Can Make This Promise by Christine Day
    • Lety Out Loud by Angela Cervantes
    • Lowriders in Space by Cathy Camper & Raúl the Third
    • Sarah Journeys West by Nikki Shannon Smith
    • Save Me a Seat by Sarah Weeks & Gita Varadarajan
    • Some Places More Than Others by Renée Watson
    • Some Writer!: The Story of E. B. White by Melissa Sweet
    • Stay by Bobbie Pyron
      The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle


    9th to 12th Grade Division

    • A Different Drummer by William Melvin Kelley
    • Dread Nation by Justina Ireland
    • Dry by Neal & Jarrod Shusterman
    • The Field Guide to the North American Teenager
      by Ben Philippe
    • Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
    • Let Me Hear a Rhyme by Tiffany D. Jackson
    • Lovely War by Julie Berry
    • Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu
    • Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay
    • Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell & Faith Erin Hicks
    • Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell
    • Thorn by Intisar Khanani